Write About What Matters Most to You

What do you love most about life? Have you written about it? What dominates your thinking? Are you writing about it? On what subject are you uniquely qualified to speak as an expert? Will you write about it?

When we write about what really matters to us we write with an unparalleled passionate, intense energy and in-depth insights that compel the reader to dive into our story. The voice of the piece, the anecdotes and the emotional connection readers feel about the story then commits them to stay with us for the entire journey.

CSS_Reboot_Your_LifeRecently, most of my published articles have centered on what matters most to me—the pain of the death of my father from Alzheimer’s and the joy of raising my now adult sons.

In April, I had my father’s story (A Survival Guide for Alzheimer’s Caregivers) published in a Chicken Soup for the Soul book entitled, “Living with Alzheimer’s & Other Dementias.” Last week, another story appeared in a CSS book. On September 16, “Reboot Your Life” was released nationwide. This anthology contains 101 stories of how people climbed out of a rut to find new paths to happiness.

My article is entitled, “Time of Possession” and shares how I connected with my two sons when they were very young and I worked out of my home as a freelance advertising writer and executive speechwriter. The story illustrates how their childhood love of playing football together bonded us forever. The story concludes with a poignant message of how “time of possession” is critical in both football and raising kids.

I’ve noticed that when I write about the things that matter most to me, those are the things that are most often published.

So, if you’re wondering what you should write about ask yourself two questions. What do you care most about? What are you yearning to say about it?

###

For more on this subject, type “Write About What Consumes You” in the search bar at right.

Published in: on September 27, 2014 at 8:37 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thewritersrefuge.wordpress.com/2014/09/27/write-about-what-matters-most-to-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just returned froma writer’s conference where a speaker asked a very similar kind of question, and It made me think about what I really want to say. I think that idea, writing about what we are most passionate, is central to the writer, though it may not be to the publisher.

    • You make a good point. However, if we research the markets that print the type of stories we are passionate about writing, we stand a good chance of achieving publication. Thanks for your comment.


What's Your Opinion On This Topic?

