New Release–Chicken Soup for the Soul (Living with Alzheimer’s)

CSS Living with Alzheimer's & Other Dementias  (2)A few weeks ago my blog post was entitled, “Write About What Consumes You.” (April 6, 2014) Lately, for me, I am consumed about writing about what really matters to me. Things like my father, who passed away six years ago this month from Alzheimer’s disease.

There is so much I want to say about him and all he taught me about life, living under pressure, and fighting through the challenges of life. He never gave up. There is so much I have learned from him and so much others can learn if I write about the hurdles and victories in his life.

I recently wrote a story detailing his bout with Alzheimer’s and listed 10 things caregivers can learn about caring for themselves while they care for their loved one with this disease. The story is entitled, “A Survival Guide for Alzheimer’s Caregivers.”

I wrote the story to honor my father and to encourage other caregivers to appreciate the privilege despite the pressure of caring for a loved one with this devastating disease.

The story was picked up and published in a new book: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Living with Alzheimer’s & Other Dementias. 101 Stories of Caregiving, Coping and Compassion.

The book released nationwide TODAY and can be found in most book stores or online at Amazon.com or bn.com.

It is my hope to spend the next year writing about what consumes me—the things that matter most.

Here’s to you spending the next year writing about what consumes you.

 

###

Published in: on April 22, 2014 at 9:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thewritersrefuge.wordpress.com/2014/04/22/new-release-chicken-soup-for-the-soul-living-with-alzheimers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

What's Your Opinion On This Topic?

