What Makes a Writer’s Blog Post Popular? (Part 2)

Last week I told you I was going to re-post the three most popular posts I have ever written for The Writer’s Refuge.

As writers, we don’t always know what will resonate with our readers. There is always a surprise, pleasant or otherwise.

Last week I re-posted my third most popular post. (See Charles Dickens post below.) This week I will post my second most popular post. And, next week my most popular post for writers.

I think today’s post was popular because it focuses on how to add impact to the personal experience story. And we all are interested in telling our “this-happened-to-me” story, right?

I hope this post is helpful to you in your writing journey. (Oh, and yes, it is snowing on my blog—at least until the new year.)

THREE WAYS TO WRITE PERSONAL EXPERIENCE

STORIES WITH GREATER IMPACT

laptop--coffee--googleWhy write a personal experience story? You write this type of story to share an experience, convey an idea, pass on a lesson, make a statement, or simply entertain. More importantly, you write the personal experience story to reach people and touch them in a meaningful way! And personal experience stories have the potential to have great impact. How do you maximize impact? Here are three tips to give your articles enduring impact.

1)     Find a Unique Angle. Doesn’t it seem like every story angle has already been used? Yet, editors still insist on articles with a fresh perspective or a unique angle. Ironically, every television program I watch seems to be a retread of a plot I’ve seen a thousand times before. Go figure.

Nevertheless, approach every personal experience story from a unique angle. When I was writing “Lose the Head, Open the Heart,” a story about a young mother dying of cancer at age 27, I approached it from her children’s point of view because I lost my mother from cancer when I was 11. This unique angle allowed me to be both the narrator and a character in the story. And since this angle added greater impact, the story was consequently accepted for publication by three magazines.

2)     Reveal Your Heart. Whenever I read a personal experience story, I am most engaged when the writer shares his heart. How did the events of the story affect him? I want to sense her pain, his struggle, her feelings of defeat and ultimately her victory. In a personal experience article, the more you see inside the writer, the more you emotionally connect with the story.

3)     Convey a Personal Discovery and Your Road to Victory. Every personal experience story must convey the arrival at some truth. The “lesson learned” is the reason you write the story. The goal is to always to help others, to identify with their plight, to sense their fear, to feel their pain, and to share your road to victory or, in some cases, the victory you found in defeat. And this is why the reader reads your story. Their goal is to learn from your learning, to apply your healing balm, to walk beside you rather than wander alone, and to claim eventual victory from the light cast from your experience.

Writing with impact is not reserved for compelling novels or large works. Your work can have lasting impact whether it’s an 80,000-word novel or an 800-word personal experience story.

Remember, writing with impact is not about word count, it’s about making your words—count.

***

Published in: on December 12, 2013 at 8:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thewritersrefuge.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/what-makes-a-writers-blog-post-popular-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

What's Your Opinion On This Topic?

