How Does Changing Where You Write Inspire What You Write?

James C. Magruder -- Writing in Home OfficeWe all have an office where we write. OK, maybe not an official “office,” but at least a space, a spare bedroom, a nook or cranny, or a cave that we’ve carved out of our living space to do the one thing we enjoy most; write.

 Yet, sometimes we can’t jump start our creativity in this allocated space. Why? It’s too routine. It makes us feel like we are “at work,” “on the clock,” under pressure to produce, or it’s simply too dull or uninspiring. Now what? Change writing environments.

Write somewhere else. Write where you feel less predictable, less claustrophobic, and less confined by your thoughts. (I wrote this blog post in three different environments; in my car under a shade tree, a reading room overlooking the woods and in my home office. See photo above.)

How does changing where you write help inspire what you write? Here are five ways my writing benefits from changing writing environments:

·       It enlarges my perspective. By changing scenery, I free up my thinking and broaden my perspective. I see the big picture and look at the writing assignment with a wider frame of reference.

·       It releases pressure. Since I usually select a tranquil environment to write (like a lawn chair on the shores of Lake Michigan), I feel more relaxed, less inhibited by the assignment, and free to express myself without reservation.

·       It silences my “inner editor.” As I feel less inhibited to write by the lake, I noticed I have also silenced my inner editor. I write much more freely and refrain from editing while I’m creating. (For more on this subject, use the search bar at right. Search for one of these keywords “Silence Inner Editor.”)

·       It adds clarity to my thinking. One of the biggest benefits of changing writing environments is the overall clarity it adds to my thinking, and subsequently, my writing. Invariably, my thoughts crystallize and I have a better idea of what I want to say and how I want to say it.

·       It fuels momentum. Now that I can think more clearly, I’ve silenced my inner editor, I don’t feel under pressure and my perspective is enlarged, I write with greater momentum. I write faster, accomplish more and say what I intended to say.

If your mind is stuck and your writing is stalled, try changing writing environments. You might even try two or three environments for one assignment.

Changing writing environments will not only inspire what you write, it will underscore a simple fact you should never forget; you’re a writer.

###

Published in: on September 19, 2013 at 7:36 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thewritersrefuge.wordpress.com/2013/09/19/how-does-changing-where-you-write-inspire-what-you-write/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I even think changing towns helps creativity . . . Say like a cabin way up north. Fresh air and star filled nights clear the brain.

    • Dave,

      You’re so right. I have a cabin I borrow once a year to fuel my writing. I think of it as my Writer’s Refuge. Thanks for following my blog.


What's Your Opinion On This Topic?

