Inspiration for Writers from Chicken Soup for the Soul

CSS Inspiration for Writers (2)Rejection is part of every writer’s life. You can’t avoid it, deny it or ignore it. But you can grow from it, learn from it and sell it. Whoa! Wait a minute. What did I just say? Sell rejection? That’s right. I recently sold two articles on this subject.

The first article was entitled, “Writing through Rejection.”  The second article, “A Writer’s Vow” was sold to Chicken Soup for the Soul—Inspiration for Writers. (Available at bookstores, Barnes & Noble, bn.com and Amazon.com on May 21, 2013.)

When I look back over my writing career, it occurs to me that I have sold more articles on rebounding from rejection than any other subject. Obviously, rejection occurs less as our writing careers advance but we are never exempt from it or immune to it.

When you consider how universally rejection strikes all writers, I’m reminded of three things to learn from this stubborn and unsympathetic teacher.

1) Never listen to the voice of rejection. Listen to the voice of reason. (Every rejection moves you a step closer to publication.)
2) Writing isn’t just something you do, it’s who you are. (So, even if you feel like quitting, you can’t.)
3) The best way to work through rejection is to write through it. (Never let rejection stall your writing momentum.)

In my article, “A Writer’s Vow” found in this new Chicken Soup for the Soul book, I talk about how I created my own writer’s vow to help me never succumb to rejection again. Have you considered creating your writer’s vow?

Besides, why should you fear rejection when you can write about it—then sell it!

###

Chicken Soup for the Soul—Inspiration for Writers will be available in bookstores, Barnes & Noble, bn.com and at Amazon.com on May 21st. This book features 101 motivational stories for writers by your fellow writers. It covers rejection, finding inspiration, facing your fears, how to make time to write, the healing power of words, mentors who mattered, writing tips, time management strategies, personal ups and downs in the business of writing and how writing changes lives. Want to pick up your writing, pick up this book.

Published in: on May 2, 2013 at 9:40 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thewritersrefuge.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/inspiration-for-writers-from-chicken-soup-for-the-soul/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations…very exciting news!…I’ll share the link to your blog post about this over on my blog soon. Sounds like a great book and can’t wait to read your story. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for the reminder. I am in such a writing rejection right now; life is running in circles and health has been dipping towards doom and gloom. I did just publish an article in Landline Trucking Magazine. There was no money involved but it was nice to get published and have my story told. Blessings. Beth

    • Beth,

      Thanks for your comments. Sorry to hear about dipping health. That brings everything into perspective. I once blogged on celebrating every writing achievement. Every thing published is a victory, celebrate it. Small victories are still victories that move us forward. Don’t give up. I trust your health will improve. Thanks for your support.

  3. My sister is a professional photographer. One of her professors told her to not worry about those who liked her work. Instead, choose someone who dislikes your work. Is their complaint something you will learn from and so make your work better, or will is solidify your reasons for doing it your way and maybe even encourage you to push that aspect more? Each rejection I receive, I consider carefully their reasoning. Are they right? They may be wrong. Will I bend to please them? Or will I reinforce what I’ve written? I’ve cut material, changed material, rewritten, and punched it up. It’s always made my work better.


What's Your Opinion On This Topic?

