When Do You Give Up On Your Novel?

“I give up.” It’s a sentence we loathe. A sentence we hope to go through life never saying. A sentence filled with implications about us—and our work. A sentence that may one day ring with regret.

That said, when should you realistically give up on your first novel if it appears to be going nowhere?

Let’s say you finished your novel. It absorbed three years of your life. You hired a freelance editor to make sure it’s ready. You expanded it, edited it and revised it again—and again. You tested it with multiple readers, a retired English teacher, and a few journalists. You analyzed it, dreamed about it, and virtually memorized it. Finally, you submit it (or at least the first three chapters) to an agent—make that 25 agents. They all reject it. Now what? Is it time to give up on your novel and move on?

Yes and no. The above may happen to you. It did happen to me. How did I respond? First, I did what every self-respecting first-time novelist does; I moped around the house for a week. When I got tired of that, I reread all of my rejection slips looking for a silver lining. I was encouraged by what I found.

Several agents gave me insightful feedback that I didn’t recognize at first blush because I was too emotionally invested in the work. Agents normally wouldn’t take the time for this if they didn’t believe the writing was sound. Many e-mailed me a few times to stay in touch and offer a few words of encouragement. And yes, some sent a standard brush-off letter. One agent e-mailed me a rejection letter that started with “Dear _______ .” Even the space to drop in my name was blank. A close friend affectionately refers to this as my “Dear Blank” rejection letter. Is there a better way to make a writer feel totally obscure? I felt like the poster boy for rejected newbie novelists.

I clung to all of the encouragement I could find in those rejection letters. Next, I followed the advice of the one agent who cared enough to bring hope. As stated in my blog entry entitled, “A Novel Experience” (See June archive at right), I converted the entire novel from first person to third person omniscient narrator, refashioned the first chapter, expanded the story by ten chapters to develop the characters and enhance the transformation of the main character, and layered in multiple subplots to an otherwise linear story.

When I finished I had a new novel ready for new agents. This time I sent it to just a few. During the revision process, I developed more patience with my writing and I abandoned my time limit for success. How did these agents respond to the new novel? Rejection. No “Dear Blank” letters, a lot of encouragement, but rejection just the same.

Discouraged, I wrote to the freelance editor that helped me reshape the book. Her advice struck gold!

“It’s unusual to write just one book and have it sell,” she said. “You often need to get the hang of crafting a novel by writing several before you write anything that nears being publishable.”

Then came the nuggets that still ring in my ears.

“Most authors make the mistake of clinging too tightly to their first novel without continuing to write more. Publishers will want to see that you have a certain velocity to your writing and can consistently come up with plot concepts and craft them into manuscripts, before they decide to invest in your first novel.”

Have I made the mistake of clinging too tightly to my first novel? Have you? I need to develop velocity to my writing.

So, what will I do with the first novel? Give up on it? No, but I will give it a rest. In the meantime, I will write one or two more knowing that my second or third novel may be my first published. Then, I will return to my first novel and see if it’s worthy of publication as my second book, or if, upon reflection, it’s worthy of a rejection letter addressed to “Dear Blank.”

***

Watch for weekly blog posts here at The Writer’s Refuge.

Blogs will be posted every Thursday.

Leave a comment or you may reach me at:  jcmchips1@yahoo.com.

Published in: on September 8, 2011 at 9:26 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thewritersrefuge.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/when-do-you-give-up-on-your-novel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have said those same words many many times over the years!
    In fact, I am STILL working on one novel now for 7 years!! I have a couple of others that I like just as much or better – but I can’t let go of the first one.
    I think my BIG problem is that I am an editor and so I get stuck in the ‘editing’ of my own work and can’t move forward – the ‘velocity’ that you speak of.
    I should take your advice and ‘shelf’ the first novel and work on the others – and then go back to the first and see if I can salvage it.

    • Cindy,

      They say your first novel is just to teach you “how” to write a novel. The second and third are the ones that may be worthy of being published. I would review your past novels and refresh your memory of all you have learned, then apply those learnings to your next effort. Finally, strive to get that final effort published. Only then revisit the past OR chalk up all of your past writings to experience. Your experience will pay off. Hiring a freelance editor helped me too. I’m sure you are a great editor but it is tough to edit your own work. Try getting an outside perspective.

      Keep writing.

      Jim

  2. […] When Do You Give Up On Your Novel? (thewritersrefuge.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Dear Blank,
    Your fourth and fifth novels will hit the jackpot.
    Sincerely,
    Anonymous Man


What's Your Opinion On This Topic?

